Society for Pediatric Pathology

About Us


Report from the Distinctions and Awards Committee

Posted March 10, 2014

Sixty-seven abstracts were presented at the PPS and SPP 4th Joint Meeting in Birmingham, UK. SPP members contributed 69% of these presentations. Fifteeen were presented by a trainee and were eligible for the Gordon F. Vawter Pathologist-in-Training Award. Six abstracts were determined to be eligible for Harry Neustein Award and 15 were qualified for the Perinatal Award.

Dr. Lauren N. Parsons from the Children's Hospital of Wisconsin/Medical College of Wisconsin won the Gordon F. Vawter Award for her presentation titled "An evidence-based recommendation for a standardized approach to detecting metastatic neuroblastoma in staging bone marrow biopsies", by LN Parsons, G Gheorghe and JA Jarzembowski.

Dr. Bahig M. Shehata from Children's Healthcare of Atlanta, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA was the recipient of the Harry B. Neustein Memorial Award for his study "Knockdown of ndufb11 in Zebrafish model results in cardiac anomalies, confirming the role of the newly recognized NDUFB11 in histiocytoid cardiomyopathy pathogenesis" by BM Shehata, CA Cundiff, K Lee, A Sabharwal, MK Lalwani, AK Davis, V Agarwal, S Sivasubbu and G Gibson.

The Perinatal Award was given to Dr. Rebecca L. Linn from Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, IL for her study "Adherent basal plate myometrial fibers (BPMYO) in the delivered placenta: A risk factor for development of subsequent placenta accreta" by RL Linn, E Miller, KG Lim and LM Ernst.

Membership Committee reviewed applications for the Resident Recruitment Award, which was established by the Society for Pediatric Pathology in 2002 to encourage pathology residents to consider a career in Pediatric Pathology. The awards were given to Anna Piskorski, M.D. from Rhode Island Hospital/Alpert Medical School of Brown University, Providence RI and Ameet Thaker, M.D. from University of Washington, Seattle, WA.

Dr. Amy Coffey was the recipient of the Intersociety Council for Pathology Information, Inc. (ICPI) Trainee Travel Award.

Fusun Gundogan, MD
Distinctions and Awards Committee
(last updated 9/16/2014)

View recent Reports from the Distinctions and Awards Committee

Brenda Waters 3-18-2014
Brenda Waters 12-05-2013
Brenda Waters 03-21-2013