Society for Pediatric Pathology
October 24, 2019

Enid Gilbert Barness Prize


The Enid Gilbert Barness Prize, established by an anonymous donor in 2008, honors the achievements and contributions of Dr. Enid Gilbert Barness, the past president and life member of Society for Pediatric Pathology, to children’s healthcare and to our specialty. The prize recognizes the impact of an outstanding pediatric pathology paper on anatomic pathology, clinical practice, research or public health, and to encourage excellence and relevance in pediatric pathology practice. The papers should be accepted or published in a peer review journal during the past three calendar years by members of the Society for Pediatric Pathology who are the first or last author and the primary contributor to the work to be eligible for the prize. Members may nominate a colleague’s paper or submit their work for consideration to the SPP Awards Committee by the deadline that is announced each year. A panel of nationally known clinicians makes the final selection, and the winner is announced at the Annual Meeting.

The winner receives a plaque and $1000 cash award, and recognition in the Society Newsletter.

Previous Winners:

2010: Douglas Radford Shanklin, MD, FRSM. University of Tennessee Health Science Center, Memphis, Tennessee. Cerebropulmonary dysgenetic syndrome. Exp Mol Pathol 85:112-116, 2008

2011: Monique E. De Paepe, MD, MSc. Women & Infants Hospital, Providence, RI. Alveolar Epithelial Cell Therapy with Human Cord Blood-Derived Hematopoietic Progenitor Cells. Am. J. Pathol 2011;178(3):1329-39.

2012: D. Ashley Hill, MD. Washington University, St. Louis, MO. DICER 1 mutations in pleuroplumonary blastoma. Science 2009;325:965.

2013: Sharon M. Geaghan, MD. Stanford University School of Medicine, Palo Alto, CA. Fetal laboratory medicine: On the frontier of maternal-fetal medicine. Clin Chem 2012;58:337-352.

2014: Raj Kapur, MD, PhD. Seattle Children’s Hospital, Seattle WA. Histologic delineation of the transition zone in short segment Hirschsprung disease. Ped and Dev Path 2013:16:252-266.

2015: Mai He, MD, PhD. Women & Infants Hospital, Providence, RI. Comparison of placental findings in type 1 and type 2 diabetic pregnancies. Placenta 2014;35(12):1001-1006.

2016: Angshumoy Roy, MD, PhD. Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children’s Hospital, Houston, TX. Recurrent internal tandem duplications of BCOR in clear cell sarcoma of the kidney. Nature Communications DOI: 10.1038/ncomms9891. Published 17 November 2015.

2017: Csaba Galambos, MD, PhD. Children's Hospital Colorado, Colorado, CO. Prominent intrapulmonary bronchopulmonary anastomoses and abnormal lung development in infants and children with Down syndrome. J Pediatr 2017;180:156-162

2018: Hiroyuki Shimada, MD, PhD. Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine, CA. MYC-family protein overexpression and prominent nucleolar formation represent prognostic indicators and potential therapeutic targets for aggressive high-MKI neuroblastomas: a report from the children’s oncology group. Oncotarget 2017;9(5): 6416-6432.

2019: Dolores López-Terrada, MD, PhD. Texas Children’s Hospital, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX. Genomic analysis of hepatoblastoma identifies distinct molecular and prognostic subgroups. Hepatology. 2017 Jan;65(1):104-121.

2020: Csaba Galambos, MD, PhD. Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO. Phenotype characterisation of TBX4 mutation and deletion carriers with neonatal and paediatric pulmonary hypertension. Eur Respir J. 2019 Aug 22;54(2): pii: 1801965

Categories: Awards | Tags: | Posted by: